International Competition : Feature films 2017

The Last Hot Lick

Mahalia Cohen

United States

Hot licks refers to the flaming fingers of a musician. Is this still the case for Jack, a debonair but stubborn individual approaching seventy, still on the road? The title and a number of clues early on do not conceal the film’s funereal tone: we soon learn that only death could put a stop to this infinite tour, criss-crossing the landscapes and harbours of Americana. Jack meets a mysterious woman: two solitudes and trajectories are aligned, but while her voice lights up a room, there is a secretive and dark side to her. The Last Hot Lick seems to adjust to the folk ballad in filmic terms, a harmonic form made of themes and choruses, whose emotion stems from the aptness of its interpretation and the relationships between the chords. (Arnaud Hée)

Mahalia Cohen has produced numerous short and feature films. Among them : H and Recommended by Enrique, both by Rania Attieh and Daniel Garcia. The Last Hot Lick is her first feature film.
SF : Ama at Sea (2011), Balance (2009), Homer (2005), Tortoise (2004)

Jaime Leopold, Jennifer Smieja
Mahalia Cohen
Maria Laura Collasso, Clarissa de los Reyes
Javier Farina, David Matorin
Jaime Leopold, Branic Howard
Art direction
Pilar Gonzalez
Amanda Laws, Daniel Garcia
Deborah Cohen, Erin Galey, Scott Cohen, Steve Johnston, Dan Wieden

Mahalia Cohen

User login

The international competition is open to :

  • 1st, 2nd and 3rd feature films (60 minutes and over)
  • 1st, 2nd and 3rd short and medium length films (less than 60 minutes)
  • without distinction of genre : fiction, essay, animation and documentary of creation (films produced for television - shows, television magazines, news coverage - are not eligible)
  • completed after the 1st of September 2021 and having not been commercially released in France (except for short films, which may have been broadcasted on local or specialty channel, exclusively).

Submissions are open until July 31st, 2022.
The decisions of the selection committee will be given y email mid-October, 2022.

Read the competition’s Rules and Regulations

2017 Competition